Late getting this up (I hate when that happens), but congratulations to all the winners at the 17th Annual Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards held Monday night at the UNIUN Nightclub in Toronto. 

Screenwriters Andrew Wreggitt (The Phantoms), Martin Gero (L.A. Complex), Kim Coghill (Less Than Kind), Dan Williams & Lienne Sawatsky (the animated series Sidekick), John May and Suzanne Bolch (How to be Indie) and Julie Strassman-Cohn & Jill Golick (Ruby Skye PI) carried off some of the top prizes.
Interesting how some shows and TV-movies that were honoured for their writing, including CBC’s Phantoms and MuchMusic’s L.A. Complex, left critics divided when they aired last year. I rather liked both those projects, although neither found a large audience–less of a consideration for a gathering of these peers. 
The co-creators of Flashpoint, Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern, were deserving winners of the WGC Showrunner Award.
Ryan Belleville (Almost Heroes and soon to be seen in CTV’s upcoming comedy Satisfaction) hosted the event. Bob Kerr (22 Minutes) supplied the quips. Presenters included Yannick Bisson (Murdoch Mysteries), Sergio Di Zio (Flashpoint), Erica Durance (Saving Hope), Susin Nielsen (Arctic Air), Dave Lawrence (Fubar) and Ken Craw (Heartland).

Write A Comment